18 Summer Street, Lynnfield, MA 01940 | 781.334.5411 or 781.334.6404
Lynnfield Public Library

Costa Book Award for Best Novel

The Costa Book Award for Best Novel (formerly the Whitbread Award) is granted to a novel by an author from Great Britain or Ireland that shows high literary merit but is also enjoyable to read and whose aim is to convey the pleasure of reading to the widest possible audience.  Previous winners and finalists have included:

Life after life : a novel / Kate Atkinson Instructions for a heatwave / Maggie O'Farrell Bring up the bodies : a novel / Hilary Mantel The hand that first held mine / Maggie O'Farrell Brooklyn : a novel / Colm Tóibín The heart broke in / James Meek The sense of an ending / Julian Barnes My dear I wanted to tell you : a novel / Louisa Young Whatever you love : a novel / Louise Doughty Skippy dies / Paul Murray Family album / Penelope Lively Wolf Hall : a novel / Hilary Mantel The elephant keeper / Christopher Nicholson The secret scripture : a novel / Sebastian Barry The road home : a novel / Rose Tremain Restless : a novel / William Boyd A spot of bother / Mark Haddon Black swan green : a novel / David Mitchell Shalimar the Clown : a novel / Salman Rushdie Case histories : a novel / Kate Atkinson The line of beauty : a novel / Alan Hollinghurst Small island / Andrea Levy. The curious incident of the dog in the night-time / Mark Haddon The story of Lucy Gault / William Trevor The siege / Helen Dunmore Atonement : a novel / Ian McEwan When we were orphans / Kazuo Ishiguro updated 2/6/2014